Great Buffet Experience

China Bar Signature Buffet!!!

Last Saturday, my Uncle celebrated his 60th birthday. We surprised him with a buffet dinner at China Bar Signature buffet restaurant thanks to his very thoughtful and loving daughter, aka Lola. Lola has got to be one of the sweetest people I know. She loves her family so much and is not afraid to show it.

The night was a blast! It started off with waiting in anticipation for the birthday celebrant. Lola & I were in constant contact as I was helping her with updates on guest arrivals at the restaurant so that she could time their appearance. And the timing couldn’t have been more perfect! Just two minutes before they arrived, every one of the guests was there!

Ok enough about the teary-eyed part and on to the food!
To be perfectly honest, at $59 per person + drinks, I have never been there before as I think for a person who can only eat a maximum of 2 platefuls pretty much can’t get their monies worth.Β BUT, as soon as I started on the food, I wondered why hubby and I have never even tried it. There were tons of variety to choose from – seafood, peking duck, yum cha style (dumplings, siomai etc), sushi, sashimi – just to name a few! Oh plus tons of desserts (my weakness!)!!! I was in heaven!
Soon after we yelled surprise! to which my Uncle looked downright a mixture of shock & shyness … everyone beelined for the food! Me first! πŸ™‚
Seafood was my first stop – smoked salmon, prawns, crab with tartare for dip.
Second was chinese cuisine – lemon chicken, lemongrass beef, scallops in sauce (can’t remember what the sauce was).
Third, was a mixture of tempura, peking duck, yum cha (dumpling, siomai, prawn in rice noodle) and some other foods I can’t even recall now!
China Bar Yum Cha

Lastly came dessert! My weakness! (I love everything that’s bad for you!) It was a very hard choice at this stage as I could hardly breathe already so I had to make my choices count. I ended up with – mini fruit tart, mini macaron, egg tart (I don’t know why I included that in dessert), mini cakes (tiramisu, blueberry cheesecake & some others I’ve forgotten) & fruit (kiwi, rockmelon, honeydew melon). I halved all this with hubby of course – because if I didn’t I would have either wasted the half of everything on the plate or wasted some of the selection altogether. Also, I had sample bites of some of the flavoured ice cream on the stick. Some of the flavours included were melon, mango, coconut, durian. I liked melon the most.
China Bar desserts

So, after three medium-sized platefuls of food and 1 plateful of dessert after, it was time to say goodbye. (Probably a good thing too otherwise my shorts may have popped a button!) Everyone gathered outside and took 30 minutes to bid farewell! Filipinos and their extended farewells! πŸ˜€

Overall, food was great and service was good. Out of 10, I would rate 9 for the food and 8 for the service (there were times when the waiter wasn’t too happy with us & the main guy wasn’t very smile-y which kinda dampened the mood a bit). But yes, I would definitely go there again – on special occasions.

How about you? Have you had a similar experience? Something that you didn’t try because of a reason but once you tried it, you wondered why you didn’t try it earlier? Would love to hear your experience in the comment below. Please share.

Thank you for stopping by and have a great day πŸ™‚

A…

* Disclaimer: This is based on my personal experience.Β China Bar did not compensate me in any way for this blog post.

Let me know what you think :)

