Zip over troubled water

Earlier this year, whilst on holidays, I had a wonderful experience. I was terrified at first but it ended up to be extremely FUN!
This experience happened on an island in the Philippines named Misamis Occidental. The location is about 1 hour drive away from the city of Ozamiz. Whether it was north, east, south, west I have no idea (wasn’t paying attention in geography class).
Anyway, we went there up to visit family friends but ended up having experienced something totally new – for all of us (hubby, sis, sis bf & I).
We ended up riding the zipline at Hoyohoy Highlands!

Currently the highest and longest zipline in Asia, it was first and has got to be the BEST Zipline experience I’ve had! (Other ziplines I saw just didn’t compare). Nothing beats the depth and the length. And the setting! The lines are between two mountains with a flowing river at the valley between.
Line 1 is 1,500meters | 500meters deep
Line 2 is 1,200meters | 400meters deep 

And not only do you get to experience the zipline but for anyone who hasn’t been on an ATV or horse back riding before, this is your chance! You get to choose one of these options to get back up the mountain! Hubby and I chose the ATV and I think that ended up to be almost as scary as the zipline!
Also, the view is breathtaking!!! The adventure park itself is laden with lush green gardens, a stone chapel, camping facilities & a hotel. If you’re not into the adrenaline rush, the location is also a perfect venue for celebrations such as  birthdays, conferences and weddings. Or if you just want to have a quiet and relaxing time away from the hustle & bussle of the city, this is still a great place to go.

So OK at first I thought I was going to faint even before the ride but a few seconds into it, while my feet was dangling over thin air, I started to enjoy it even though I still couldn’t stop shouting (poor hubby’s ears)! It was the best thrill I’ve had in a long time! After the first ride, I wanted to go over and over again (but due to time constraints we couldn’t).

The following pictures were taken by my hubby, an aspiring photographer with great promise.

Stone Chapel
The Stone Chapel

Camp fireplace
Camp fireplace

Look at that vvviiiieewwwwww!!!!
An experience you won’t forget

Dont look dowwwnnnnn!!!!!!
Look at that view!

ATV!
The ATV awaits to take you back up

Although hubby takes great pictures, nothing beats the personal experience. I highly recommend that you check this place out when you’re in the Philippines. People of all ages and nationality visits Hoyohoy Highlands simply for the experience.

OK now it’s your turn. What new experience have you been on lately? Or new places you’ve visited. Please tell me in the comment box below. I love to hear about everyone’s thrilling experiences and would love to get ideas on where to visit next.

Thank you for your time in reading this blog of mine. Have a great day 🙂

<3Hugs&Kisses

6 thoughts on “Zip over troubled water

  1. Sounds so exciting! Good to read ;). We are planning to go there this Oct 10 to 13, 2012. What packages do they have for a group of 5 to 8 (the cheaper the better)? Do you have their contact numbers? How do we get there starting from Ozamis City? TIA! 🙂

    • Hi San!

      It’s very exciting. It was my first time & was initially scared but a few seconds into the ride & I was shouting of excitement & thrill!
      I don’t know what current packages they have right now but if you click on the Hoyohoy Highlands link on my post (in pink) it will take you to their Facebook page.
      Yes you start at Ozamiz & they usually offer transportation from there so it’s best you visit their FB page to get the current offers.

      I hope you enjoy it as much as I did. I want to go back! 😊

      • Hi Ana,

        Thanks much for your response and advise. 🙂 I hope to experience what you experienced. Thanks for your nice blog.

        Maybe you want to try Dahilayan Adventure Park in Bukidnon as your next adventure trip? God bless 🙂

        San

Let me know what you think :)

