If I win the lottery (Part 1)

I was supposed to be out and about today helping hubby and friend with a photo shoot and eventually get a shot or two of what was supposed to have been my outfit of the day but instead, I am stuck at home with a disturbed tummy.

So here I am, sitting up in bed watching movie after movie and surfing the net trying to deny my craving for Hermes bags!
Thanks to Katherine (who kindly visited my blog and commented) @ Feather Factor – the deeply buried cravings have come back to the surface to haunt me and make me salivate. And since I can’t afford to satisfy this craving due to financial reasons, I will instead write about it – I call them my “dream-y” Hermes bags because right now that’s all I can do.
These two bags were iconic even before they became very popular in recent times. They do not have “look-at-me” logos plastered all over them but anyone that knows anything about bags can spot them in a crowd.
So here goes …

Welcome Grace Kelly and Jane Birkin. The two people who inspired my “dream-y” bags.
The Kelly bag came into fruition in 1956 when a photo of Grace Kelly (who had become the new Princess of Monaco), was shown carrying the Sac à dépêches bag in a photograph in Life magazine. Purportedly, she held it in front of herself to cover up her pregnancy. Thus, the public began calling it the “Kelly” bag. The name was subsequently adopted by Hermès, and the bag became hugely popular.
The Birkin bag came into fruition when in 1981, Hermès chief executive Jean-Louis Dumas was seated next to Jane Birkin on a flight from Paris to London. She had just placed her straw bag in the overhead compartment of her seat, but the contents fell to the ground, leaving her to scramble to replace the contents. Birkin explained to Dumas that it had been difficult to find a leather weekend bag she liked. In 1984, he created a black supple leather bag for her based on an 1892 design. She used the bag for herself then later changed her mind due to tendonitis. Nevertheless, the bag has since become an icon.

Even though they are both on my “If I win the lottery” list and of equal lust factor, for me personally, I prefer the Kelly a tiny bit more than the Birkin. I love the classy, serious shape and more structured design of the Kelly whereas the Birkin is more of a fun, softer design to me.

Hermes Kelly Bag
Hermes Kelly Bag

Hermes Birkin
Hermes Birkin Bag

Knowing the current retail prices of these bags, I will never be able to afford them without winning the lottery – and that’s only if I win multiple millions of dollars – (or someone sells them for 1/4 of the price!). I have other priorities for the first couple of million before I can relax and splurge on bags like this.

So OK, I have a looooonnnnggggggg “If I win the lottery” list and this is only part of it. I will share more & more items on this list on a monthly basis so keep a look out for it.

Well, that’s it for me.
Now it’s your turn. Do you have a similar list? Would you like to share items on your list? I would love to read about them. Feel free to do so in the comments below.

Thank you for stopping by and taking the time to read this entry and have a great day 🙂

❤ ANA

4 thoughts on “If I win the lottery (Part 1)

  1. Thank you for the shoutout! I love both bags but there are plenty of styles that are similar at more friendly prices that might tide you over for now 🙂 Also feel better soon!

    • No worries! I got addicted to ur blog! 🙂
      Oh yeah don’t worry, I have other bags to keep me busy for now but these 2 will always be in my dreams.
      And thank you. I’m feeling better today.

  2. Hope you feel better soon! These two bags are beautiful and I would love to have either one but as with you, it’s not likely to happen without a lottery win!

    Cheers,
    Laura

Let me know what you think :)

